A Poetic Analisys of Beatles Songs

Yesterday By The Beatles

Yesterday, all my troubles seemed so far away
Now it looks as though they’re here to stay
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Suddenly I’m not half the man I used to be
There’s a shadow hanging over me
Oh, yesterday came suddenly

Why she had to go
I don’t know, she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

Why’d she have to go?
I don’t know, she wouldn’t say
I said something wrong
Now I long for yesterday

Yesterday love was such an easy game to play
Now I need a place to hide away
Oh, I believe in yesterday

The first part of the poem describes how everything leading up from the past has caught up to this person and how yesterday has caused a metaphorical shadow to be cast over him. He feels that a part of him is gone because of yesterday. He wishes for yesterday, because today is nothing like yesterday. Because today has caused problems that yesterday can prevent, today doesn’t have the excitement and joy that yesterday does, today doesn’t bring the happiness that yesterday does. And because yesterday is just a memory, he can only remember yesterday and must live with the disappointment of today.

The second part of the poem describes a love from yesterday. How today, that love vanished and how yesterday’s love seemed so sweet. How yesterday’s love felt like it could last forever, and now that that is gone today brings sadness. Today, that love left when she left. How that part of him that left went with her, how everything left in a blur today, and left no explanation. Now that yesterday’s love has left, he needs a place to hide from today.

The poem is brought together in the chorus. The first two stanzas were not elaborate on the situation, but the feelings of the situation are very clear. It is a very sad tone in which the beginning of the poem is written in, which raises the question of how did those feelings arise? In the final four stanzas, the reason for the feelings are revealed. The tone switches to desperate towards the end of the poem. He is desperate for yesterday’s love. He is desperate for the part of him that left with yesterday. He is desperate for the happiness of yesterday.

In My Life By The Beatles

There are places I remember
All my life though some have changed
Some forever not for better
Some have gone and some remain
All these places have their moments
With lovers and friends I still can recall
Some are dead and some are living
In my life I’ve loved them all

But of all these friends and lovers
There is no one compares with you
And these memories lose their meaning
When I think of love as something new
Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more

Though I know I’ll never lose affection
For people and things that went before
I know I’ll often stop and think about them
In my life I love you more

In my life I love you more

In the first stanza, someone is recalling old memories, whether it is old places or friends. He talks about places he loves enough to remember. He talks about the joy of the past, and how some of the past has remained the same, and how some of it has changed and left old parts behind. He also talks about the friends he has had throughout the years, the friends that still move on, and the ones that no longer breathe the air of the Earth. He talks about how these places and friends are the things he loves with all his heart.

In the second stanza, he talks about someone he loves more. Someone who makes him lose the memories of the places and people he loves, someone who makes him forget about everything that is happening, someone who always comes to mind when he is thinking about places and people that he loves, someone who he loves the most, more than any cherished place he has visited or any sincere friend he has made.

In the third and fourth stanzas, he repeats that though he will always feel something for the people and places he loves, he loves this person more than anything else, and that when he thinks about anything that he loves, this person will always be loved more by him.

This poem is put together by starting out with things that mean something to the author. Places that have meaning to him, and people that are always there for him. Things that he has loved his whole life. He uses that to say that he loves someone else more than all these other things that he loves. He ends the poem by saying that everything else is forgotten when he thinks about his love for this other person. He uses the beginning to say he loves this person in the end.

Let It Be By The Beatles

When I find myself in times of trouble
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be
And in my hour of darkness
She is standing right in front of me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom, let it be

And when the broken-hearted people
Living in the world agree
There will be an answer, let it be
For though they may be parted
There is still a chance that they will see
There will be an answer, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Yeah, there will be an answer, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Let it be, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom, let it be

Let it be, let it be
Ah, let it be, yeah, let it be
Whisper words of wisdom, let it be

And when the night is cloudy
There is still a light that shines on me
Shine on until tomorrow, let it be
I wake up to the sound of music,
Mother Mary comes to me
Speaking words of wisdom, let it be

The poem can’t be broken into specific parts, in my opinion. The poem as a whole is one big prayer. It is a prayer in the darkness. It is a prayer that everybody will see that there is an answer. It is hope, a chance for the answer to be found, hope that light will shine through the darkness, hope that the prayers of happiness will be heard and answered, hope that people in the dark will hear the whispered words of wisdom, and hope that the shadow in the darkness will help find the light, because that shadow is the key to the answer.

I didn’t break this poem into parts because everything is connected. Every word of this poem plays its part in contributing to the overall meaning of the poem. The first few stanzas have the same outline as the last few stanzas. It is one big prayer, asking for the light in the darkness, the answer to the problems. And if you just let it be, those things will come to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *