My Stance on Reading

Many people like to read, some more than others. People read historical novels, fiction books, short stories and fairy tales. I’ve never been in to reading any of these genres of reading. When I read, I usually read news articles, mainly about sports. When I read, I like to read about present events, not about Neverland.

I’ve always been into sports journalism. My passion is to be a sports broadcaster/journalist after college. I’ll read to keep up with news around sports, whether it is an MLB trade, an NBA free agent signing, or an NFL injury. This topic has always appealed to me. I’ve always appreciated the reporters who go out to get the story and deliver it so well for their readers on a daily basis. When I do read an actual book, I go with the topic of sports. Of course there’s the occasion when a teacher says to bring in a book for when you’re done with the test. 100% of the time I will bring in a sports book, mainly about baseball. Most of them are fiction stories about little league players. But, there is a series about Derek Jeter when he played little league baseball that he writes about, same with Cal Ripken Jr.. For me, when I read about sports, that is what captures my imagination, picturing the scene and placing myself in the story. I can’t do that so easily with other topics.

I haven’t found other books as enjoyable as other people do. I read the first few books in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series and didn’t thoroughly enjoy it as much as my peers did. The fiction genre doesn’t appeal to me as well when it doesn’t involve sports. I have been able to enjoy the nonfiction genre on certain occasions. Sports, of course, and crime books have interested me. I watch crime investigations on Netflix at times and have found nonfiction books in the subject somewhat appealing. I have thought about going into the field of law as a second career option, but haven’t given any deep thought about practicing law since my focus is with the sporting world. I have always been in love with sports so much that I have been attached to sports when reading most of the time.

I’m not going to tell you to read about sports, or even go with the nonfiction genre most of the time. All I will say is to read about what interests you the most, because that is where you will find yourself captured inside the text, not wanting to put the book down for the slightest second, and in that moment, you will truly be in your happy place.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *